Kmart EntranceI just realised that it has been ages since I last posted on here. I always plan on doing something for Christmas and the New Year but just about never get around to it – perhaps it’s (hopefully) a sign that I’m having a good time.

Most (if not all) of my readers would know by now that I’m a *strict* soy avoider. I strive to avoid all derivatives of soy including soy lecithin. If a product “may contain traces of soy” I generally ignore the warnings. Even so, remaining on a soy free diet is tremendously difficult in the 21st century.

So, like most years, on Christmas Day, I received a box of chocolates from a friend who I only just got to know a month or two ago.

Kmart Belgian Chocolate Seashells

Kmart Belgian Chocolate Seashells

At first I thanked her, sighed (while she wasn’t looking), and put them to the side. I never said anything about my gluten and soy sensitivities. After the crowd was gone (and just before I threw them in the bin) I checked the ingredient list. I was sure they would definitely be unsafe as belgian (and just about all other) chocolate has soy lecithin in it.

But… I stood corrected.

Ingredients: Sugar, Vegetable Fat, Cocoa Butter, Whole Milk Powder, Hazelnuts (7.8%), Dextrose, Cocoa Mass, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Skimmed Milk Powder, Emulsifier: Sunflower Lecithin (E322), Natural Flavouring.

Allergen Advice: Contains Tree Nuts (Hazelnuts) and Milk.
May Contain traces of other Nuts, Peanuts, Soy and Gluten.

As printed on the back of the box:

Kmart Belgian Chocolate Seashells Ingredient Listing

Kmart Belgian Chocolate Seashells Ingredient Listing

Manufacturer unknown…

I was ecstatic. With this information, I decided to dive in head first and try the chocolates. I took one of each variety of seashell and indulged myself. I suffered no ill effects. The chocolates were delicious (just like the Guylian Seashells I used to eat when I was so little, which do contain soy lecithin) and others who tried them couldn’t tell the difference. It was so good to finally have discovered a soy free chocolate that might just be within easy reach for a while. I’ll be stocking up for sure.

For everyone here, we have an affordable soy free chocolate gift available to us in Australia at Kmart. Get in quick while stocks last!

